Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission that Christ entrusted to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishops), presbyterate (priests), and diaconate (deacons). Just like Christ called apostles and disciples to teach and heal in his name, He continues to do so in our day. St. Paul, reflecting on his ministry in the name of Jesus, wrote in 1 Corinthians 4:1 “Thus should one regard us as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God.”

“Ordination” comes from the Latin word ordinatio, which means to incorporate someone into an order. During the sacrament of Holy Orders, a man is incorporated into the priesthood of Jesus Christ at one of the three degrees. Thus bishops, priests and deacons help administer the grace of Christ.

“Vocation” comes from the Latin word vocare, which means to call. Everyone has a vocation. God calls men and women to follow him in marriage, priestly ministry, consecrated life (sisters and monks). The question is which vocation are you being called to follow?

Do you think that God might be calling you to serve Him as a priest?

Have questions about vocations? Fr. Le would be happy to talk with you. Just call the parish office at 810-694-4891 or email frle@hfgb.org.


Monday – 6:30 a.m.

Tuesday – 8:15 a.m. and 7 p.m

Wednesday – 6:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Thursday – 6:30 a.m. and 8:15 a.m.

Friday – 6:30 a.m.

Saturday – 8:00 a.m. and vigil at 5 p.m.

Sunday – 8 a.m., 10 a.m., 12 p.m. and seasonal evening Mass:

7 p.m. Memorial Day weekend in May to Labor Day weekend in September

5 p.m. after Labor Day to the weekend before Memorial Day weekend